Hablamos Español

I Was Caught Driving Without a License in California. What Happens Now?

Here in California, there are various rules and regulations in place regarding traffic operations and how individuals may or may not operate their motor vehicles. Rather obviously, when someone is caught violating these rules or regulations by law enforcement, they’ll likely face certain penalties. If you were recently pulled over and accused of driving without a valid driver’s license, there is a strong chance you’ll face certain penalties, and, depending on the circumstances, some penalties may be harsher than others. Read on and reach out to a knowledgeable Tehama County traffic violation lawyer from Cohen Criminal Law to learn more about the penalties you may face and how we can help you combat those penalties at every turn. Here are some of the questions you may have:

Can I go to jail for driving without a license in the state of California?

If you’re caught driving without a license, simply because you either physically lost your license or you left it at home, you can expect to face an infraction, which will typically entail a $250 file. That said, when law enforcement pulls someone over for driving without a license in their physical possession for a second time in CA, they risk facing misdemeanor charges, which can entail up to six months of jail time and a maximum $1,000 fine. Rather obviously, if you’re facing a second offense, it’s paramount you hire a knowledgeable attorney who can work to keep you out of jail.

What are the consequences of operating a motor vehicle with a suspended or revoked license in CA?

As you can imagine, the consequences of driving while you have a suspended or revoked license are harsher than driving without a license in your physical possession. For a first offense, you can expect to spend up to six months in jail and face a $1,000 fine. If this is your second or subsequent offense of driving with a suspended or revoked license, you’ll likely face even harsher penalties, such as a potentially longer jail sentence and an even higher fine. Fortunately, as long as you retain competent legal representation, you stand a far stronger chance of fighting those charges. Our legal team has fought on behalf of countless individuals facing DWI and traffic violations over the years, and we’re prepared to fight for you, too. Give us a call today.

CONTACT OUR EXPERIENCED TEHAMA COUNTY FIRM

Attorney Cohen has fought on behalf of those charged with crimes and traffic violations for over 30 years, and he is ready to fight for you, too. Contact Cohen Criminal Law today to schedule your free initial consultation with our firm.