There are few criminal charges more damaging to a person’s life than those involving driving under the influence. These charges can warrant high fines, jail time, and significantly affect a person’s ability to travel. This Thanksgiving Weekend, especially on Thanksgiving Eve, many people will make the unfortunate mistake of getting behind the wheel of their vehicle after having “one too many.” Often, these people will find themselves charged with DUIs. Please continue reading to learn more about Thanksgiving Eve DUI charges in California and how our Red Bluff criminal lawyer can help if you receive one. Here are some of the questions you may have:
What are the consequences of a first-offense DUI in California?
You should understand that even for a first-offense DUI, you can expect to face various very serious penalties. If you are pulled over and found to have a BAC over .08% and this is your first DUI in California, you will face the following penalties:
- A potential six-month driver’s license suspension
- Up to three years of probation
- Anywhere between 48 hours and 6 months in the county jail
- High fines
- Court-mandated participation in, and completion of, DUI school
- If you are pulled over in the future and have any amount of alcohol in your system, even if your BAC is lower than .08%, you will receive a DUI
What happens if I am convicted of a DUI for the second time in California?
If this is your second DUI in California, you will most likely face even harsher penalties, as courts will see you as a repeat offender. For a second DUI in California, you will most likely face the following penalties:
- A potential $2,500 fine
- Anywhere between 10 days and one year of incarceration
- A potential two-year driver’s license suspension
- You will most likely have to install and use the ignition interlock device in your vehicle, at your own cost
- Court-mandated DUI school
How long will I go to jail for a third DUI in California?
If you recently received a third or subsequent DUI in California, you can expect to spend anywhere between 120 days and one year in jail. You will also face a wide array of additional penalties, including a $1,800 fine, a potential three-year driver’s license suspension, up to five years of probation, and enrollment in a court-approved DUI program for at least 30 months. Regardless of whether this is your first, third, or subsequent DUI, you need competent legal representation on your side. Our firm is here to help in any way we can.
CONTACT OUR EXPERIENCED TEHAMA COUNTY FIRM
Here at Cohen Criminal Law, we believe that everyone is innocent until proven guilty. Our mission is to defend your rights, and we are committed to that mission. We will be your number one advocate through every step of the process. Attorney Cohen has fought on behalf of those charged with crimes and traffic violations for over 30 years, and he is ready to fight for you, too. Contact Cohen Criminal Law today to schedule your free initial consultation with our firm.