When someone is charged with a DUI, they have a lot to consider, to say the least. DUI charges can have significant impacts on a person’s life, especially if he or she is underage. Contrary to what many believe, getting a DUI as a minor comes with very serious consequences, which is why anyone who finds themselves in this situation should read on and speak with a competent Tehama County DUI lawyer from Cohen Criminal Law at once. Here are some of the questions you may have about underage DUI charges and how we can help you fight them:
What happens if I’m charged with a DUI as a minor in California?
The first thing you should understand is that for drivers over the age of 21, they will need to blow a blood alcohol content of .08% or higher to get a DUI. However, if you are under the age of 21, you will only need to blow a blood alcohol content of .01% or higher to get an underage DUI. This is because California has a “zero-tolerance law” in place. Additionally, if you blow a BAC over .05% as a minor under the age of 21, you will face standard Underage DUI charges. If you blow a BAC of .08% or higher, however, you will face adult DUI charges.
What are the consequences of a DUI as a minor in California?
Depending on the circumstances of your DUI, you may face a wide range of consequences. The potential consequences you may face for a DUI as a minor in California are as follows:
- For violating California’s “zero tolerance” law: You will lose your driver’s license for up to one year.
- For having a BAC of 0.05%: You will lose your driver’s license for up to one year, have to enroll in an alcohol education program, and face a $100 fine.
- For a BAC of 0.08%: You will face anywhere between three and five years of misdemeanor probation, you will lose your driver’s license, have to enroll in an alcohol education program, and you will face a $1,000 fine and up to six months of incarceration.
- For underage possession of alcohol in a vehicle: This will typically constitute vehicle impoundment of 30 days, a one-year driver’s license suspension, and a potential $1,000 fine.
The bottom line is that the penalties you may face for an underage DUI can have serious ramifications on your life, which is why you can’t face them without a competent Redding criminal lawyer in your corner. Give us a call today.
CONTACT OUR EXPERIENCED TEHAMA COUNTY FIRM
Here at Cohen Criminal Law, we believe that everyone is innocent until proven guilty. Our mission is to defend your rights, and we are committed to that mission. We will be your number one advocate through every step of the process. Attorney Cohen has fought on behalf of those charged with crimes and traffic violations for over 30 years, and he is ready to fight for you, too. Contact Cohen Criminal Law today to schedule your free initial consultation with our firm.