Receiving a DUI at any age can be devastating, however, anyone who is charged with a DUI while under the age of 21 can face a wide array of penalties that can significantly alter the course of their future. If you are currently facing an underage DUI in California, you should strongly consider reaching out to a Tehama County DUI lawyer from Cohen Criminal Law to learn more about what happens when someone gets a DUI while under the age of 21 and how we can help. Here are some of the questions you may have:
What BAC does someone under the age of 21 need to receive a DUI?
Anytime a person is pulled over by a police officer, it is a rather frightening experience. This is especially true if you’re behind the wheel and have potentially consumed a certain amount of alcohol. Typically, someone who is over the age of 21 will receive a DUI charge if they are found to have a BAC of .08% or higher. However, you should note that California has a “zero-tolerance law” in place that essentially states that anyone under the age of 21 may receive a DUI if they blow a BAC of .05% or higher.
What happens if I am convicted of an underage DUI in CA?
Do not assume that you will receive less harsh charges simply because of your age. If you are convicted of an underage DUI in California, you will most likely face a wide array of penalties that can impact your life for years into the future, including the following:
- If arrested with a BAC of .05%, you will receive a one-year driver’s license suspension, mandatory enrollment in an alcohol education program, and a $100 fine.
- If arrested with a BAC of .08%, you will receive a driver’s license suspension, mandatory enrollment in an alcohol education program, up to six months of incarceration, and anywhere between three and five years of misdemeanor probation.
- If alcohol is found in the vehicle operated by an underage driver: You will most likely lose your driver’s license for one year, have your vehicle impounded for 30 days, and face a $1,000 fine.
Don’t face these charges alone. Reach out to an experienced Glenn County criminal lawyer today.
CONTACT OUR EXPERIENCED TEHAMA COUNTY FIRM
Here at Cohen Criminal Law, we believe that everyone is innocent until proven guilty. Our mission is to defend your rights, and we are committed to that mission. We will be your number one advocate through every step of the process. Attorney Cohen has fought on behalf of those charged with crimes and traffic violations for over 30 years, and he is ready to fight for you, too. Contact Cohen Criminal Law today to schedule your free initial consultation with our firm.