Whenever a driver gets behind the wheel of a vehicle, they are required to follow the rules of the road. These rules are learned when a person is tested to receive their driver’s license. If the driver breaks these rules, they can be stopped by law enforcement and ticketed for a traffic violation. A violation of traffic laws can include speeding, reckless driving, using a cell phone while driving, driving under the influence, and more. These actions can come with certain consequences. Depending on the violation, it can result in fines, jail time, and even license revocation. When a person has their license suspended, they are no longer legally allowed to drive. If they do, it is considered breaking the law. Courts and law enforcement officers in the state of California take this offense very seriously and work hard to keep those with a suspended license off the road. This is to ensure their own safety as well as everyone else on the road. It is because of this that courts are strict in penalizing those who choose to continue driving even though they have a revoked license. Individuals who are charged with driving with a suspended license should retain the services of an experienced Tehama County traffic violation lawyer to assist with their case.
What happens if I’m found guilty of driving with a suspended license in California?
By having a valid driver’s license, people are aware of and follow traffic laws. If an individual has their driver’s license revoked, it means they previously violated these laws and had their license taken away as a result. If this individual continues to drive with a suspended license, they can put themselves and others at risk. It is because of this that they can be penalized for their actions. If you are caught driving with a suspended or revoked driver’s license for the first time in California, you will likely face up to six months of incarceration and a $1,000 fine. Subsequent offenses will come with even harsher penalties.
What happens if I just forgot my driver’s license at home?
If your license isn’t suspended, but you were pulled over and didn’t have it on your person, you will likely face an infraction, which can warrant a $250 fine. However, if you are caught driving without a license for a second time, you may face a misdemeanor charge, which can warrant up to six months of incarceration and a $1,000 fine.
Our firm has extensive experience fighting traffic violations on behalf of our clients, and we are here to put that experience to work for you. If you’re charged with driving without a license, give us a call today and we will fight for the best outcome possible on your behalf.