There is nothing worse than being charged with a crime, especially a drug crime. As you may know, here in California, it is legal to possess a certain amount of marijuana for recreational purposes. That being said, there are limits to how much marijuana a person can own, and if they are caught exceeding those limits, they may face a wide range of criminal penalties as a result. Please continue reading and reach out to our competent Tehama County drug possession lawyer to learn about how much marijuana you can legally possess and what happens if you’re caught with an excess amount. Here are some of the questions you may have:
How much marijuana can I possess in the state of California legally?
Here in California, as long as you are over the age of 21, you are allowed to possess and use marijuana for recreational purposes. That said, it is unlawful to possess more than 28.5 grams of marijuana, and if you are caught in possession of more than that amount, you will face up to six months of incarceration and a maximum $500 fine. The same is also true if you were caught with six or more marijuana plants. If you’re caught in possession of more than eight grams of concentrated cannabis will likely face up to one year of incarceration and a maximum $500 fine. That said, those who are under the age of 18 and caught with any marijuana will have to take a drug education course and take part in community service.
Am I allowed to sell marijuana in the state of California?
No. Selling marijuana without an express license to do so is unlawful in California. If you’re charged with intent to sell, you will face various consequences, including the following:
- Any amount of marijuana: This is a misdemeanor offense, which can entail a maximum of six months of incarceration and a $500 fine.
- Selling marijuana as an 18-year-old or older to anyone between the ages of 14-17: This is a felony offense, which can warrant anywhere between three and five years of incarceration.
- Selling marijuana as an 18-year-old or older to anyone younger than 14 years old: This is a felony offense, which can warrant anywhere between three and seven years of incarceration.
The bottom line is that if you’re convicted of drug charges of any kind, you can expect to face very serious consequences that will impact your life for years down the road. For this reason, you’d be best served with a skilled Red Bluff criminal lawyer in your corner from the start. Give us a call today so we can get working on your case.
CONTACT OUR EXPERIENCED TEHAMA COUNTY FIRM
Attorney Cohen has fought on behalf of those charged with crimes and traffic violations for over 30 years, and he is ready to fight for you, too. Contact Cohen Criminal Law today to schedule your free initial consultation with our firm.