DUIs are always very serious. Unfortunately, DUIs are far more common on St. Patrick’s Day than on many other holidays. In fact, in the 2019 holiday period, nearly half of all traffic fatalities were caused by drunk drivers. For this reason, the police strictly enforce drunk driving laws during the holiday period, and sobriety checkpoints can be seen nearly everywhere across the country. That said, if you made a mistake and were charged with a DUI this year, our firm is here. Read on and reach out to our experienced Tehama County DUI lawyer to learn more about St. Patrick’s Day DUI charges in California and how we can help if you are currently facing them. Here are some of the questions you may have:
What happens if I get a DUI for the first time in California?
Despite this only being your first offense, you can expect to face several consequences, including a six-month license suspension, high fines, up to six months in county jail (but at least 48 hours), DUI school, and more. Rather obviously, even for a first-offense DUI, you need to hire a competent attorney who can fight your charges and help you stay out of jail.
Will I go to jail for a second DUI in California?
After receiving a second DUI, courts will treat you even harsher than they did the first time. In fact, for a second DUI, you’re looking at anywhere between 10 days and one year in jail. The additional penalties for a second DUI in California are as follows:
- The mandatory installation of the ignition interlock device
- DUI school
- A 2-year license suspension
- A$2,500 fine
How long will I lose my driver’s license for a third DUI in California?
Unfortunately, when someone gets a third DUI, they will typically lose their driver’s for at least three years. Rather obviously, this can significantly impact a person’s ability to get or keep a job, get to doctor’s appointments, or even just socialize. Additionally, for a third DUI, you can expect to face up to five years of probation, a potential one-year jail sentence (but at least 120 days), and enrollment in a DUI program for at least 30 months.
If you’re facing any of the aforementioned penalties, our Willows criminal defense lawyer is here to help. Give our firm a call today so we can get started.
CONTACT OUR EXPERIENCED TEHAMA COUNTY FIRM
Here at Cohen Criminal Law, we believe that everyone is innocent until proven guilty. Our mission is to defend your rights, and we are committed to that mission. We will be your number one advocate through every step of the process. Attorney Cohen has fought on behalf of those charged with crimes and traffic violations for over 30 years, and he is ready to fight for you, too. Contact Cohen Criminal Law today to schedule your free initial consultation with our firm.