Hablamos Español

What Should I Do if I Got a DUI This Fourth of July?

The Fourth of July is a time to celebrate our nation’s independence, but for some, it may also be a time to make bad decisions, such as getting behind the wheel of a motor vehicle after consuming drugs or alcohol. If you received a DUI this Fourth of July, you have a lot on the line. Even if this is only your first offense, you could face jail time, fines, license suspension, and other consequences that could affect your life for years. That’s why you need to know what to do if you got a DUI this Fourth of July. Please continue reading and reach out to a seasoned Tehama County DUI lawyer from Cohen Criminal Law to learn more about California’s DUI laws, the penalties you could face for a DUI, and the steps you should take to protect your rights and your future. Don’t let one mistake ruin your freedom.

What penalties may I face for a DUI?

If you’ve been charged with even a first-offense DUI in California, you can face a wide range of penalties. To start, upon conviction, there is a chance that you could spend up to six months in jail. You could also face a six-month driver’s license suspension unless you win a DMV hearing (you cannot do so without a competent attorney in your corner). Additionally, you may face anywhere between $390 and $1,000 fines, as well as other penalty assessments and fees. In some cases, you will have to attend DUI school for anywhere between three and nine months. In many cases, you will also have to install and use the ignition interlock device in your vehicle for up to six months. These are just some of the penalties you may face for a first offense, and it is worth noting that subsequent offenses will only result in harsher penalties.

What steps should I take after receiving a DUI this Fourth of July?

  1. Contact a DUI attorney as soon as possible. A DUI attorney can help you understand your rights, challenge the evidence against you, negotiate a plea deal, or represent you at trial. A DUI attorney can also help you request and prepare for a DMV hearing, which is crucial to avoid losing your license.
  2. From here, your lawyer will likely request a DMV hearing within 10 days of your arrest. If you fail to do so, your license will be automatically suspended for six months or longer. A DMV hearing is your chance to contest the suspension and keep your driving privileges. You can have your attorney represent you at the hearing and argue why you should not lose your license.
  3. Review the arrest report and evidence with your attorney. You have the right to obtain a copy of the police report and any other evidence that the prosecution intends to use against you, such as breathalyzer results, blood tests, field sobriety tests, dashcam videos, or witness statements. Your attorney can help you analyze the evidence and look for any errors, inconsistencies, or violations of your rights that could weaken the case against you.

The bottom line is that if you are currently facing DUI charges, the time to act is now. Contact Cohen Criminal Law today so we can get started working on your case.