Hablamos Español

Will I Lose My Right to Gun Ownership for a DWI in California?

Gun ownership is a Second Amendment right here in the United States. This means that all law-abiding and mentally stable citizens have a right to purchase, own, and use certain firearms. However, when people are convicted of crimes and obtain criminal records, their right to own a firearm may be revoked. If you recently received a DWI here in California or you’ve been convicted of one, you may wonder whether it will impact your right to own a gun. Please continue reading and reach out to a seasoned Tehama County DUI lawyer to learn more.

Can a DWI conviction revoke my right to own a gun in California?

To start, you need to understand that there are two types of DUIs here in California: felony DUIs and misdemeanor DUIs. Misdemeanor DUIs are the most common, but felony DUIs also are far from rare. Some circumstances that may warrant a felony DUI include driving while under the influence with a child in the car, striking/killing another person while driving under the influence, and getting a third DUI within three years. If you’re convicted of a felony DUI (or any felony, for that matter) you likely will lose your right to purchase, own, and use firearms here in the United States.

Fortunately, in most cases, if you’re convicted of a misdemeanor DUI, which, as previously mentioned, is more common, you will most likely still retain your right to gun ownership. However, this doesn’t mean that the consequences you face won’t be severe; in fact, the consequences for even a first-offense DUI can drastically impact your life for years down the road. Just some of the potential consequences for a first-offense misdemeanor DUI in California are as follows:

  • Between 48 hours and six months in the county jail
  • Three years on probation
  • A $1,600 fine
  • Mandatory participation and completion of a court-approved DUI school
  • A six-month driver’s license suspension

You will also most likely develop a criminal record, which can impact your ability to get certain jobs, secure certain loans, and more. For this reason, even if this is only your first DUI and it’s a misdemeanor, you’ll need to hire a competent Red Bluff criminal lawyer who can help you fight your charges at every turn. Cohen Criminal Law is on your side, and we will be, every step of the way. Give us a call today.


Attorney Cohen has fought on behalf of those charged with crimes and traffic violations for over 30 years, and he is ready to fight for you, too. Contact Cohen Criminal Law today to schedule your free initial consultation with our firm.