Hablamos Español

Redding DUI Lawyer

It is a crime for anyone in the country to operate a vehicle while under the influence of alcohol. The state of California is aggressive in penalizing those who drive under the influence. If a person is convicted of a DUI, they can face serious penalties including fees, fines, possible incarceration, a license suspension, and more. At Cohen Criminal Law, we have the experience necessary to assess your situation and provide a defense to protect your future. If you were charged with a DUI, you must retain the services of a legal team you can trust. Contact a competent Redding DUI lawyer from Cohen Criminal Law today to discuss your options.

DUI Lawyer Redding

DUI Lawyer Fighting for Clients in Redding & throughout California

We understand that there are few things more frightening than being apprehended by law enforcement and charged with a crime. Unfortunately, many people are found guilty of DUI charges simply because they either made a mistake or were unfairly accused. Either way, everyone is innocent until proven guilty, and everyone is entitled to legal representation. Our skilled Redding criminal lawyer is here to provide that legal representation.

First-Offense DUI Penalties in California

A person can be charged with a DUI if law enforcement determines their blood alcohol content (BAC) is over the legal limit. In the state of California, this limit is .08% or greater. This can be determined through a breathalyzer test or a blood test. If you have been caught with a BAC over the legal limit for the first time, you may face the following consequences:

  • A minimum of 48 hours but up to six months in county jail
  • Up to three years of probation
  • A driver’s license suspension for a minimum of six months
  • Roughly a $1,600 fine
  • Mandatory enrollment and completion of DUI school
  • You may receive a DUI on any subsequent occasion that you’re caught with any amount of alcohol in your system, regardless if you’re below the legal limit

Second-Time DUI Offenses in CA

You should understand that if a driver in the state of California is found driving under the influence for a second or subsequent offense, they can face harsher consequences than their first offense. If a driver is charged with a DUI within ten years of their first charge, it can result in the following consequences:

  • Between 10 days and one year of jail time
  • Installation and use of the ignition interlock device
  • A suspension of your driver’s license
  • Up to $2,500 in fees and fines
  • Mandatory enrollment and completion of DUI school

Third or Subsequent DUI Penalties in CA

Drivers who are found guilty of a third or subsequent DUI can face overwhelming consequences that have the potential to impact the rest of their life. This can include, but is not limited to, the following:

  • A minimum of 120 days of incarceration and a maximum of one year in county jail
  • Installation and use of the ignition interlock device
  • A maximum three-year suspension of your driver’s license
  • A maximum $1,800 fine
  • Mandatory enrollment and competition of DUI school for at least 30 months
  • Probation

Other DUI Charges

Just some of the additional DUI charges we commonly see here in the state of California are as follows:

  • Underage DUIs: If you’re under the age of 21, you may face a “zero-tolerance” offense for having a blood alcohol content of even just .01%. If you have a blood alcohol content of .05%, you may receive an underage DUI. Additionally, if you’re caught driving with a blood alcohol content of .08%, you’ll receive a “standard” DUI charge.
  • Drug DUIs: A person can be charged with driving under the influence of drugs (DUID) if they are no longer sober due to any illegal or over-the-counter drug, as well as the combination of such with alcohol. Penalties for this charge can include probation, jail time, a driver’s license suspension, enrollment in DUI school, and more.
  • High BAC DUIs: When someone is found guilty of driving with a blood alcohol content of higher than .15%, they’ll receive even harsher penalties. These penalties can entail additional jail time, a driver’s license suspension, high fines, and more.
  • Commercial DUIs: If you’re a commercial driver and were found with a blood alcohol content of .04%, you can receive a DUI, as commercial drivers are held to a higher standard than other drivers. For a first offense, you will face up to one year in jail and a one-year driver’s license suspension. For a second offense, you’ll lose your commercial driver’s license permanently.
  • Breath Test Refusals: Many people assume that it’s safer to simply refuse to take a breathalyzer test than risk having a blood alcohol content above the legal limit. That said, breath test refusals come with a wide range of penalties of their own. For example, for a first offense refusal charge, you’ll likely face a $125 fine and a one-year driver’s license suspension. If you are found guilty of a second refusal charge, you’ll lose your license for two years, and for a third, you’ll lose your license for three years.

Contact a DUI Lawyer in Redding, California Today

The bottom line is that if you have been charged with a DUI in the state of California, your future is on the line. It is because of this that you must retain the services of a skilled legal team that can fight for you. At Cohen Criminal Law, we how to defend your case. Contact our firm today to schedule a consultation with our experienced and dedicated team.

Recent Blogs